Skip to content

Scholarship Criteria


IPDET scholarships target actors with potential catalytic effect within developing countries, including government officials, parliamentarians, evaluation practitioners, managers, young evaluation professionals, members of Voluntary Organizations for Professional Evaluation (VOPEs), and students. Through this targeting, the scholarships enable individuals, who would not otherwise have the means, to access the IPDET program.


In order to be eligible for a scholarship, the applicant

  • must be a national and resident of a low income, lower middle income or upper middle income country (see the country lists below*)
  • has no other funding available to finance the tuition fees

Priority Criteria

An applicant will be considered on a prioritized base if he/she is

  • conducting, managing, commissioning and/or using evaluations;
  • holding a position of influence that is likely to foster wider adoption of M&E practices;
  • working in an organization with a long-term plan to build evaluation capacity, where the IPDET training is an integral part of a more comprehensive plan;
  • generating impact within the M&E sector of the developing country where he/she is based after participating in a course;
  • affected by COVID-19 in a way that participating in the IPDET workshop would benefit his/her evaluation work.

Important note


  • The Scholarship Selection Committee reviews all applications in a fair and equitable manner and makes selection recommendations.
  • Scholarship recipients are responsible for ensuring that they provide all required information within the stipulated timeframe and that all information is correct and accurate, to the best of their knowledge. Scholarship recipients are also responsible for sharing post-course information (i.e., sharing a qualitative letter and filling out a quantitative survey).

*As reference we use the World Bank Country and Lending Groups list.


Afghanistan Guinea-Bissau Sierra Leone
Burkina Faso Haiti Somalia
Burundi Korea, Dem. People’s Rep. South Sudan
Central African Republic Liberia Sudan
Chad Madagascar Syrian Arab Republic
Congo, Dem. Rep Malawi Tajikistan
Eritrea Mali Togo
Ethiopia Mozambique Uganda
Gambia, The Niger Yemen, Rep.
Guinea Rwanda



Angola Honduras Papua New Guinea
Algeria India Philippines
Bangladesh Kenya São Tomé and Principe
Benin Kiribati Senegal
Bhutan Kyrgyz Republic Solomon Islands
Bolivia Lao PDR Sri Lanka
Cabo Verde Lesotho Tanzania
Cambodia Mauritania Timor-Leste
Cameroon Micronesia, Fed. Sts. Tunisia
Comoros Moldova Ukraine
Congo, Rep. Mongolia Uzbekistan
Côte d’Ivoire Morocco Vanuatu
Djibouti Myanmar Vietnam
Egypt, Arab Rep. Nepal West Bank and Gaza
El Salvador Nicaragua Zambia
Eswatini Nigeria Zimbabwe
Ghana Pakistan


Albania Fiji Montenegro
American Samoa Gabon Namibia
Argentina Georgia North Macedonia
Armenia Grenada Paraguay
Azerbaijan Guatemala Peru
Belarus Guyana Russian Federation
Belize Indonesia Samoa
Bosnia and Herzegovina Iran, Islamic Rep. Serbia
Botswana Iraq South Africa
Brazil Jamaica St. Lucia
Bulgaria Jordan St. Vincent and the Grenadines
China Kazakhstan Suriname
Colombia Kosovo Thailand
Costa Rica Lebanon Tonga
Cuba Libya Turkey
Dominica Malaysia Turkmenistan
Dominican Republic Maldives Tuvalu
Equatorial Guinea Marshall Islands Venezuela, RB
Ecuador Mexico