Skip to content

Scholarship Criteria


IPDET scholarships target actors with potential catalytic effect within developing countries, including government officials, parliamentarians, evaluation practitioners, managers, young evaluation professionals, members of Voluntary Organizations for Professional Evaluation (VOPEs), and students. Through this targeting, the scholarships enable individuals, who would not otherwise have the means, to access the IPDET program.


In order to be eligible for a scholarship, the applicant

  • must be a national and resident of a low income, lower middle income or upper middle income country (see the country lists below*)
  • has no other funding available to finance the tuition fees

Priority Criteria

An applicant will be considered on a prioritized base if he/she is

  • conducting, managing, commissioning and/or using evaluations;
  • holding a position of influence that is likely to foster wider adoption of M&E practices;
  • working in an organization with a long-term plan to build evaluation capacity, where the IPDET training is an integral part of a more comprehensive plan;
  • generating impact within the M&E sector of the developing country where he/she is based after participating in a course;
  • affected by COVID-19 in a way that participating in the IPDET workshop would benefit his/her evaluation work.


  • The Scholarship Selection Committee reviews all applications in a fair and equitable manner and makes selection recommendations.
  • Scholarship recipients are responsible for ensuring that they provide all required information within the stipulated timeframe and that all information is correct and accurate, to the best of their knowledge. Scholarship recipients are also responsible for sharing post-course information (i.e., sharing a qualitative letter and filling out a quantitative survey).

*As reference we use the World Bank Country and Lending Groups list.


Afghanistan Guinea-Bissau Somalia
Burkina Faso Korea, Dem. People’s Rep. South Sudan
Burundi Liberia Sudan
Central African Republic Madagascar Syrian Arab Republic
Chad Malawi Togo
Congo, Dem. Rep Mali Uganda
Eritrea Mozambique Yemen, Rep.
Ethiopia Niger
Gambia, The Rwanda
Guinea Sierra Leone



Angola Honduras Philippines
Algeria India Samoa
Bangladesh Indonesia São Tomé and Principe
Belize Iran, Islamic Rep Senegal
Benin Kenya Solomon Islands
Bhutan Kiribati Sri Lanka
Bolivia Kyrgyz Republic Tanzania
Cabo Verde Lao PDR Tajikistan
Cambodia Lesotho Timor-Leste
Cameroon Mauritania Tunisia
Comoros Micronesia, Fed. Sts. Ukraine
Congo, Rep. Mongolia Uzbekistan
Côte d’Ivoire Morocco Vanuatu
Djibouti Myanmar Vietnam
Egypt, Arab Rep. Nepal West Bank and Gaza
El Salvador Nicaragua Zambia
Eswatini Nigeria Zimbabwe
Ghana Pakistan
Haiti Papua New Guinea


Albania Gabon Namibia
American Samoa Georgia North Macedonia
Argentina Grenada Panama
Armenia Guatemala Paraguay
Azerbaijan Guyana Peru
Belarus Iraq Romania
Bosnia and Herzegovina Jamaica Russian Federation
Botswana Jordan Serbia
Brazil Kazakhstan South Africa
Bulgaria Kosovo St. Lucia
China Lebanon St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Colombia Libya Suriname
Costa Rica Malaysia Thailand
Cuba Maldives Tonga
Dominica Marshall Islands Turkey
Dominican Republic Mauritius Turkmenistan
Equatorial Guinea Mexico Tuvalu
Ecuador Moldova
Fiji Montenegro