Skip to content

Scholarship Criteria

Mandatory criteria

In order to be eligible for a scholarship, the applicant must

  • come from and work in a priority country* of the sponsoring donors and
  • work as
    • employee of a governmental or non-for-profit organization oriented towards development
    • OR representative of a national Evaluation association
    • OR member of the national parliament.


* Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, DR Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, El Salvador, Georgia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritiana, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen & Zambia.


additional mandatory criteria

Fundamental stream (Week 1 Core Course + Week 2 Workshops)
  • Only limited formal training and practical experience in Evaluation
  • No prior attendance of the Core course
Specialized stream (Week 2 + Week 3 Workshops)
  • Substantial Evaluation experience with a minimum 3 years of active involvement in conducting, managing, commissioning or using Evaluations (provide information in your CV)


priority criteria

An applicant will be considered on a prioritized base if he/she is

  • conducting, managing, commissioning and/or using Evaluations
  • holding a position of influence that is likely to foster wider adaption of M&E practices.
  • working in an organization with a long-term plan to build evaluation capacity, where IPDET training is an integral part of a more comprehensive plan.


not eligible

The following persons are not eligible for an IPDET scholarship:

  • Employees of UN agencies, development banks or other financial institutions.
  • Employees of bi- and multilaterial (development) organizations/agencies.
  • Employees of private sector companies.
  • Private consultants.

(Some professionals in these categories may have won scholarships through other channels.)

  • Prior IPDET Scholarship recipients.