Skip to content

Scholarship Criteria


IPDET scholarships target actors with potential catalytic effect within developing countries, including government officials, parliamentarians, evaluation practitioners, managers, young evaluation professionals, members of Voluntary Organizations for Professional Evaluation (VOPEs), and students. Through this targeting, the scholarships enable individuals who would not otherwise have the means to access the IPDET program.


In order to be eligible for a scholarship, the applicant:

  • must be a national and resident of a low-income, lower-middle income or upper-middle-income country (see the country lists below*)
  • has no other funding available to finance the tuition fee

Priority Criteria

An applicant will be considered on a priority basis if he/she is:

  • conducting, managing, commissioning and/or using evaluations;
  • holding a position of influence that is likely to foster wider adoption of M&E practices;
  • working in an organization with a long-term plan to build evaluation capacity, where the IPDET training is an integral part of a more comprehensive plan;
  • generating impact within the M&E sector of the developing country where he/she is based after participating in a workshop.
Important notice
  • Be aware, that you cannot apply for an online and on-site scholarship at the same time! Choose beforehand, for which scholarship you want to apply.
  • We kindly urge only those applicants in real need of financial support to apply for a scholarship, since the demand outnumbers the funds available.


  • Scholarship recipients are responsible for ensuring that they provide all required information within the stipulated time frame and that all information is correct and accurate, to the best of their knowledge. Scholarship recipients are also responsible for sharing post-workshop information (i.e., sharing a qualitative letter and filling out a quantitative survey).

*As reference, we use the World Bank Country and Lending Groups list.


Afghanistan Guinea-Bissau Somalia
Burkina Faso Korea, Dem. People’s Rep. South Sudan
Burundi Liberia Sudan
Central African Republic Madagascar Syrian Arab Republic
Chad Malawi Togo
Congo, Dem. Rep Mali Uganda
Eritrea Mozambique Yemen, Rep.
Ethiopia Niger Zambia
Gambia, The Rwanda
Guinea Sierra Leone



Angola India Philippines
Algeria Indonesia Samoa
Bangladesh Iran, Islamic Rep São Tomé and Principe
Benin Kenya Senegal
Bhutan Kiribati Solomon Islands
Bolivia Kyrgyz Republic Sri Lanka
Cabo Verde Lao PDR Tanzania
Cambodia Lebanon Tajikistan
Cameroon Lesotho Timor-Leste
Comoros Mauritania Tunisia
Congo, Rep. Micronesia, Fed. Sts. Ukraine
Côte d’Ivoire Mongolia Uzbekistan
Djibouti Morocco Vanuatu
Egypt, Arab Rep. Myanmar Vietnam
El Salvador Nepal West Bank and Gaza
Eswatini Nicaragua Zimbabwe
Ghana Nigeria
Haiti Pakistan
Honduras Papua New Guinea


Albania Fiji Namibia
American Samoa Gabon North Macedonia
Argentina Georgia Palau
Armenia Grenada Paraguay
Azerbaijan Guatemala Peru
Belarus Guyana Russian Federation
Belize Iraq Serbia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Jamaica South Africa
Botswana Jordan St. Lucia
Brazil Kazakhstan St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bulgaria Kosovo Suriname
China Libya Thailand
Colombia Malaysia Tonga
Costa Rica Maldives Turkey
Cuba Marshall Islands Turkmenistan
Dominica Mauritius Tuvalu
Dominican Republic Mexico
Equatorial Guinea Moldova
Ecuador Montenegro